North Franklin FCU announces three-county charter expansion, name change

North Franklin FCU announced that it has expanded its credit union charter to include three additional counties. In addition to Franklin County, the credit union now serves those in St. Lawrence, Essex and Clinton counties.

In addition, the credit union also plans to change its name to TruNorthern Federal Credit Union to reflect the current field of membership it now serves, effective May 1, 2021.

“As we continue to grow and reach more communities, we have had to ask ourselves whether ‘North Franklin Federal Credit Union’ would continue to serve us across our field of membership in New York,” said Darin Childs and Curt Lyon, CEO and board president, respectively, of North Franklin FCU, in a letter to partners.

“Weighing a name, which we have been proud to carry since 1972, against our duty to prepare the credit union for the future was thoughtfully considered. Ultimately, our board of directors agreed that we need a name that lets people in the communities we serve know that they can be part of our growing credit union.”

Childs and Lyon said that the new name was chosen to reflect the fact that the credit union is accessible to those in the four northernmost counties of New York while remaining “Tru to our Northern Roots.”

Leave a Reply