Speaker Heastie announces Assembly leadership posts

assemblysealAssembly Speaker Carl Heastie announced the chamber’s leadership positions and committee chairs for the 2018 legislative session. Notably for credit unions, Assemblyman Kenneth Zebrowski, D-Westchester-Rockland, will again serve as chairman of the Committee on Banks.

The Association has a strong working relationship with Zebrowski, who last session introduced and oversaw the passage of an important bill that would have granted credit unions access to the state Banking Development District Program.

Complete leadership positions are listed below:

Speaker: Carl E. Heastie
Majority Leader: Joseph D. Morelle
Chair, Ways and Means: Helene E. Weinstein
Deputy Speaker: Earlene Hooper
Assistant Speaker: Félix W. Ortiz
Speaker Pro Tempore: Jeffrion L. Aubry
Chair, Committee on Committees: Vivian E. Cook
Assistant Speaker Pro Tempore: N. Nick Perry
Deputy Majority Leader: Phil Ramos
Assistant Majority Leader: Dov Hikind
Majority Whip: William Colton
Deputy Majority Whip: José Rivera
Assistant Majority Whip: Al Stirpe
Chair, Majority Conference: Steven Otis
Vice Chair, Majority Conference: Ron Kim
Secretary, Majority Conference: Walter T. Mosley
Chair, Majority Program: Carmen E. Arroyo
Chair, Majority Steering: Barbara Lifton
Vice Chair, Majority Steering: Edward C. Braunstein
Chair, House Operations: Michael Miller
Chair, Puerto Rican/Hispanic Task Force: Marcos A. Crespo


Chair, Aging: Donna A. Lupardo
Chair, Agriculture: William Magee
Chair, Alcoholism & Drug Abuse: Linda B. Rosenthal
Chair, Banks: Kenneth P. Zebrowski
Chair, Children & Families: Ellen Jaffee
Chair, Cities: Michael Benedetto
Chair, Codes: Joseph R. Lentol
Chair, Consumer Affairs: Matthew Titone
Chair, Corporations, Authorities & Commissions: Amy Paulin
Chair, Correction: David I. Weprin
Chair, Economic Development: Robin Schimminger
Chair, Education: Catherine Nolan
Chair, Election Law: Charles D. Lavine
Chair, Energy: Michael Cusick
Chair, Environmental Conservation: Steve Englebright
Chair, Ethics & Guidance: Aravella Simotas
Chair, Governmental Employees: Peter J. Abbate, Jr.
Chair, Governmental Operations: Crystal D. Peoples-Stokes
Chair, Health: Richard N. Gottfried
Chair, Higher Education: Deborah J. Glick
Chair, Housing: Steven Cymbrowitz
Chair, Insurance: Kevin A. Cahill
Chair, Judiciary: Jeffrey Dinowitz
Chair, Labor: Michele R. Titus
Chair, Libraries & Education Technology: Didi Barrett
Chair, Local Governments: William B. Magnarelli
Chair, Mental Health: Aileen M. Gunther
Chair, Oversight, Analysis & Investigations: Shelley Mayer
Chair, Racing & Wagering: J. Gary Pretlow
Chair, Real Property Taxation: Sandy Galef
Chair, Small Business: Fred W. Thiele, Jr.
Chair, Social Services: Andrew Hevesi
Chair, Tourism: Daniel J. O’Donnell
Chair, Transportation: David F. Gantt
Chair, Veterans Affairs: Michael G. DenDekker


Chair, Administrative Regulations Review: Dan Quart
Chair, Farm, Food & Nutrition: Addie Jenne
Chair, Government Administration: Thomas J. Abinanti
Chair, Reapportionment: Marcos A. Crespo
Chair, Rural Resources: Frank Skartados
Chair, Science & Technology: Sean Ryan
Chair, Skills Development & Career Education: Harry B. Bronson
Chair, State-Federal Relations: Robert J. Rodriguez


Leave a Reply