House passes S.2155 in major reg relief victory for CUs

Capitol building in Washington

In a major victory for credit unions, the House of Representatives passed S.2155, known as the Economic Growth, Regulatory Relief and Consumer Protection Act. The legislation, which was approved by the Senate earlier this year, will now make its way to President Donald Trump’s desk to be signed into law.

The bipartisan approval in the House marks the culmination of a monthslong advocacy push by credit unions, the New York Credit Union Association and CUNA.

“This legislation will make mortgage processing faster and easier, increase the availability of affordable rental housing, open the door to allow credit unions to provide billions of dollars in small business lending, and help credit unions protect seniors from elder abuse,” Association President/CEO William J. Mellin said in a letter to member credit unions yesterday. “Whether it was lobbying lawmakers in D.C., holding in-district meetings with senior-level staff, engaging legislators on social media, or penning op-eds and letters to the editor in support of the legislation, the New York credit union movement played a key role in the passage of this bill.”

For more information on the bill’s specifics, view yesterday’s article in The Point.

Below is a list of New York’s congressional delegation and how they voted on the legislation:

  • Lee Zeldin (R-1) (Yes)
  • Peter T. King (R-2) (Yes)
  • Thomas Suozzi (D-3) (Yes)
  • Kathleen Rice (D-4) (Yes)
  • Gregory Meeks (D-5) (No)
  • Grace Meng (D-6) (No)
  • Nydia Velázquez (D-7) (No)
  • Hakeem Jeffries (D-8) (No)
  • Yvette Clarke (D-9) (No)
  • Jerrold Nadler (D-10) (No)
  • Daniel M. Donovan, Jr. (R-11) (Yes)
  • Carolyn Maloney (D-12) (No)
  • Adriano Espaillat (D-13) (No)
  • Joseph Crowley (D-14) (No)
  • José E. Serrano (D-15) (No)
  • Eliot Engel (D-16) (No)
  • Nita Lowey (D-17) (No)
  • Sean Patrick Maloney (D-18) (Yes)
  • John Faso (R-19) (Yes)
  • Paul D. Tonko (D-20) (No)
  • Elise Stefanik (R-21) (Yes)
  • Claudia Tenney (R-22) (Yes)
  • Tom Reed (R-23) (Yes)
  • John Katko (R-24) (Yes)
  • Brian Higgins (D-26) (No)
  • Chris Collins (R-27) (Yes)


  • Chuck Schumer (D) (No)
  • Kirsten Gillibrand (D) (No)

Leave a Reply