Recognition Roundup: Credit union leaders who are making a difference

‘Power 30’ banking and finance list
Three credit union leaders have been named to the Rochester Business Journal’s ‘Power 30’ banking and finance list.

Laurie Baker

Laurie Baker, president/CEO of The Summit FCU
“Being a credit union CEO allows me the opportunity and leverage to make a difference every day — that’s what I enjoy most,” Baker told the Rochester Business Journal. “Credit unions are mission-driven organizations that exist to serve their members.”

Pamela Heald

Pamela Heald, president/CEO of Reliant Community Credit Union
Heald began at Reliant, then WCTA Federal Credit Union, in 1992 and worked her way up the ladder before becoming CEO in 2007. Since Heald became CEO, Reliant has added four branches for a total of nine.

Faheem Masood

Faheem Masood, president/CEO of ESL FCU
When asked what he enjoys most about his role, Masood said “[d]efinitely the relationships and people I get to work with. Whether it’s my wonderful colleagues at ESL or the people I’ve been fortunate to meet throughout the community, collaborating and learning from all of these individuals is by far my favorite part of my role.”

2021 Eugene Ball Award
Charles R. Smith, First New York FCU board chairman, has been recognized with the National Association of Credit Union Chairmen’s 2021 Eugene Ball Award, presented during the 45th annual Chair’s Roundtable Forum in Denver, Colo.

Charles R. Smith

Smith was elected as board chairman in 1990, and soon after, became involved with the National Association of Credit Union Chairmen and began attending the chair’s roundtable forums. In 1998, he was elected to NACUC’s board of directors serving as chairman from 2003 to 2007.

“I wanted to give back to an organization that’s given me so much in my role as board chairman,” Smith said. “It’s been an honor to be a part of it and now to be recognized with this award.”

Smith has served with First New York FCU for more than 50 years beginning as a volunteer field rep. Before he was elected to the board of directors in 1984, he served on the supervisory committee.

Leave a Reply