Credit unions announce charter expansions

Three New York credit unions have been granted community charter expansions: ServU Federal Credit Union, Cheektowaga Community Federal Credit Union and AmeriCU Credit Union.

ServU Federal Credit Union, which has $453 million in assets, recently announced they have made it even easier to become a member and access financial services. ServU FCU has been granted a community charter expansion by the NCUA, including 13 counties in New York and four in Pennsylvania.  The counties in the rural district expansion include Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chemung, Genesee, Livingston, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wyoming and Yates in New York, and Bradford, McKean, Potter and Tioga in Pennsylvania.  

The total population of the rural district is 957,171 with a 145-mile radius of their headquarters in Painted Post, N.Y.  Previously the credit union’s field of membership included over 658 select employee groups.

ServU FCU says they plan to continue to follow their mission statement of exceeding member expectations.  They will do so by providing personal member service, through every communication channel, including face-to-face interactions, telephone transactions, digital connections and mobile platforms.

ServU FCU also announced its new mobile branch, a 34-foot mobile banking unit with an ATM and two private offices.  The new mobile unit is ServU-branded and will be accessible at community events and locations throughout the counties they serve.

“Our new mobile branch will bring financial services to a large geographic area and will strengthen our community driven focus,” said Lauran Wilson, SVP of Development.

The application for the rural district charter expansion was written by the New York Credit Union Association.

Cheektowaga Community Federal Credit Union, a $11.8 million credit union located in the town of Cheektowaga, was approved by the NCUA, for a charter expansion to serve the towns of Cheektowaga, Lancaster, West Seneca, Orchard Park and Hamburg, including the villages of Sloan and Depew.  The total population of the area is 288,159. 

The credit union has also recently changed their name to Circuit Federal Credit Union. Cheryl Kuczynski, CEO/treasurer says she is excited about this new phase for the credit union.  “Both the new name and expanded field of membership will bring many growth opportunities our way,” Kuczynski said.

The application for community charter expansion was written by the New York Credit Union Association.

The New York State Department of Financial Services has approved AmeriCU Credit Union’s expansion into 15 additional counties across the North Country, Mohawk Valley, Central New York, and Cortland-Ithaca communities, and now provides AmeriCU the opportunity to serve close to 2.2 million people in a total of 24 counties. AmeriCU is a $2.7 billion-asset credit union.

“We are excited to expand our field of membership to promote financial education, stability, and growth, as well as present greater opportunities within each community,” said Ron Bell, AmeriCU president/CEO. “By extending our footprint, we can offer solutions to address the unique financial needs of more communities, individuals, families, and businesses, fostering growth and development in New York and beyond.”

Leave a Reply