State Assembly announces new appointments, including Abinanti as Banks Committee chair


The New York Credit Union Association looks forward to working with Assemblyman Thomas Abinanti of the 92nd District, who was named the new chairman of the state Assembly Banks Committee.

Abinanti, a Democrat, replaces Assemblyman Kenneth Zebrowski of the 96th District. The Association worked closely with Zebrowski in the past to advance important legislation, including the Banking Development Districts bill that was recently signed into law by Gov. Andrew Cuomo. The Association intends to continue its strong relationship with the Banks Committee and will meet with Abinanti to discuss the Association’s 2020 legislative priorities.

Other new Assembly committee appointments include:

star3 Kenneth Zebrowski, 96th District—chair, Governmental Operations Committee;

star3 John McDonald, 108th District—chair, Oversight, Analysis and Investigation Committee;

star3 Patricia Fahy, 109th District—vice chair, Majority Steering;

star3 Latrice Walker, 55th District—chair, Science and Technology Commission;

star3 Aravella Simotas, 36th District—chair, Task Force on Women’s Issues; and

star3 Jo Anne Simon, 52nd District—chair of the Ethics and Guidance Committee.

Leave a Reply